HONOLULU – (Jan. 19, 2015) — An official “NO GO” call for the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau was made by the event organizers at 9am today. Organizers have been following the development of a swell scheduled to hit the North Shore of Oahu this week Wednesday. Citing inconsistency and a lack of the minimum 40-foot wave face heights that the event requires for a full eight-hour day of competition, the event will wait this one out. 

 The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau, a WSL sanctioned specialty event, has until February 28, 2015 to run, and organizers will continue to assess winter swell episodes as they develop throughout the period.

 “After assessing all available forecast sources, we are not seeing sufficient energy to run the event this week,” said Event Director Glen Moncata. “The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau requires a full eight hour day of waves with minimum 40-foot faces. What we are seeing simply does not meet the criteria. Yes, there will be some waves of that height in the latter half of the day, but not a full day of consistent surf. We will wait.”

 The limiting factor to this swell episode appears to be a strong westerly component which results in Kauai island producing a shadowing effect for the North Shore of Oahu, reducing the size and consistency of the swell that will impact Waimea Bay.

 The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is the original big wave invitational and celebrates its 30th anniversary this winter. The last time this one-day event was held was December 8, 2009. The holding period began on December 1, 2014, and runs through February 28, 2015.




Heat 1: Shane Dorian (HAW); Kohl Christensen (HAW); Greg Long (USA); Ramon Navarro (Chile); Sunny Garcia (HAW); Ross Clarke-Jones (AUS); Jamie Mitchell (AUS)

Heat 2: Kelly Slater (USA); David Wassel (HAW); Grant Baker (ZAF); Reef McIntosh (HAW); Jamie O’Brien (HAW); Aaron Gold (HAW); Tom Carroll (AUS)

Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW); Mark Healey (HAW); Clyde Aikau (HAW); Nathan Fletcher (USA); Noah Johnson (HAW); Peter Mel (USA); Takayuki Wakita (JPN)

Heat 4: Bruce Irons (HAW); Makuakai Rothman (HAW); Ian Walsh (HAW); Jamie Sterling (HAW); Kala Alexander (HAW); Garrett McNamara (HAW); Jeremy Flores (FRA)


Heat 1: Shane Dorian; Kohl Christensen; Greg Long; Reef McIntosh; Jamie O’Brien; Aaron Gold; Tom Carroll

Heat 2: Kelly Slater; David Wassel; Grant Baker; Ramon Navarro; Sunny Garcia; Ross Clarke-Jones; Jamie Mitchell

Heat 3: John John Florence; Mark Healey; Clyde Aikau; Jamie Sterling; Kala Alexander; Garrett McNamara; Jeremy Flores

Heat 4: Bruce Irons; Makuakai Rothman; Ian Walsh; Nathan Fletcher; Noah Johnson; Peter Mel; Takayuki Wakita




Past Winners

1985/1986 : Denton Miyamura (Haw)

1989/1990 : Keone Downing (Haw)

2000/2001 : Ross Clarke-Jones (Aus)

2004/2005 : Bruce Irons (Haw)

1986/1987 : Clyde Aikau (Haw)

1998/1999 : Noah Johnson (Haw)

2001/2002 : Kelly Slater (USA)

2009/2010 : Greg Long (USA)


About Eddie Aikau:

Just 31 years of age when he was lost at sea during an ill-fated voyage of Hawaii’s Hokule’a double-hull sailing canoe in 1978, Aikau was a young man at the height of a career equally dedicated to big-wave riding and lifeguarding at historic Waimea Bay. Filled with a pure passion to ride giant surf, take care of his fellow man, and uphold his Hawaiian culture and family values, Aikau became the benchmark by which all big wave riders are measured.

Post a Comment

Back to Top