Upper Cervical Hawaii 728×90

World’s Best Surfers Ready for Tahiti Pro pres. by Hurley Wednesday Aug 21st

Californian Kolohe Andino Leads WSL Top 34 as Jeep Frontrunner – First Californian in 23 Years

Reigning Two-Time WSL Champion Gabriel Medina Looks to Recapture Teahupo’o Magic

Looks like Trial contenders get (by far) the Biggest Surf of the entire event as first couple days this week start off slow… but plenty fun-sized overhead SSW expected Friday into the weekend and several SW events for the week of the 26th.

Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o pres. by Hurley Seeding Round (Round 1) Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Peterson Cristanto (BRA), Soli Bailey (AUS)
Heat 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 4: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), TBD
Heat 5: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Joan Duru (FRA), TBD
Heat 6: Kolohe Andino (USA), Yago Dora (BRA), TBD
Heat 7: Kelly Slater (USA), Deivid Silva (BRA), Francisco Morais (PRT)
Heat 8: Ryan Callinan (AUS), Willian Cardoso (BRA), Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Heat 9: Julian Wilson (AUS), Michael Rodrigues (BRA), Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Griffin Colapinto (USA)
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS), Wade Carmichael (AUS), Jesse Mendes (BRA)
Heat 12: Conner Coffin (USA), Seth Moniz (HAW), Jack Freestone (AUS)

Tahiti Pro Past Winners:
2018: Gabriel Medina (BRA)
2017: Julian Wilson (AUS)
2016: Kelly Slater (USA)
2015: Jeremy Flores (FRA)
2014: Gabriel Medina (BRA)
2013: Adrian Buchan (AUS)
2012: Mick Fanning (AUS)
2011: Kelly Slater (USA)
2010: Andy Irons (HAW)
2009: Bobby Martinez (USA)
2008: Bruno Santos (BRA)
2007: Damien Hobgood (USA)
2006: Bobby Martinez (USA)
2005: Kelly Slater (USA)
2004: C.J. Hoobgood (USA)
2003: Kelly Slater (USA)
2002: Andy Irons (HAW)
2001: Cory Lopez (USA)
2000: Kelly Slater (USA)
1999: Kelly Slater (USA)

TEAHUPO’O, Tahiti (Wednesday, August 14, 2019) – The world’s best surfers are preparing for one of the most critical events of the year, the Tahiti Pro presented by Hurley, at the infamous lefthand reef pass of Teahupo’o from August 21 – September 1, 2019.

Kolohe Andino (USA), current WSL Jeep Rankings’ Leader, has delivered well in recent seasons at Teahupo’o, finishing 5th, 3rd and 5th at the event in the past three seasons. Andino’s comfort with the challenging South Pacific reef pass will be an advantage as we move into the Tahiti Pro window.

“Tahiti is a really special event for me,” Andino said. “It’s a place where I grew up watching guys like Andy (Irons) and Kelly (Slater) absolutely dominate. It’s a spot I really wanted to get good at and I love coming here. I’ve had some decent results in recent years, but I want a win. That’s always the goal and a win helps the Title campaign. Hope we get some solid surf.”

Andino will look to cement his frontrunner-status – the first Californian male to do so in 23 years (since Shane Beschen in 1996) –  as contenders Filipe Toledo (BRA)Italo Ferreira (BRA)Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) and Jordy Smith (ZAF)look to gain ground in the hunt for the 2019 World Title.

Gabriel Medina (BRA), reigning two-time WSL Champion and defending Tahiti Pro winner, had a stalled start to the season, hampered by back-to-back 17th place finishes in Bali and Margaret River. However, the current WSL No. 7 and defending Tahiti Pro winner, is coming off a victory in South Africa and will look to build on that momentum heading into the South Pacific.

Medina faces rookies Peterson Cristano (BRA) and Soli Bailey (AUS) in the opening heat of the Round 1.

Hurley, into their second year as presenting sponsor for 2019, is excited to see the world’s best surfers back at one of the most critical waves and critical tour stops of the season this coming week.

“Teahupo’o is one of the most special places in the world. It’s an arena unlike any other, and has hosted some of surfing’s most spectacular performances and historical moments,” Jeff Hurley,  Hurley, said. “Hurley is thrilled to be the presenting sponsor of the Tahiti Pro, and we can’t wait to see the best in the world do what they do best.”

John John Florence (HAW)Leonardo Fioravanti (ITL) and Mikey Wright (AUS) have withdrawn from the event due to ongoing injuries and will be replaced by Caio Ibelli (BRA)Francisco Morais (PRT), and Tahitian Matahi Drollet (PYF). Drollet will be placed into the draw once the trials are complete.

The two remaining places in the draw will be determined via the Tahiti Pro Trials, a 32-man, one-day trials event that will take place between August 16 and 18.

The Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o presented by Hurley opens Wednesday, August 21 and runs through Sunday, September 1, 2019.

The event will be broadcast LIVE on WorldSurfLeague.comFacebook.com/WSL and on the free WSL app.







Post a Comment

Back to Top