Cholos 728×90 Generic

With all the NW swells…They’re Scoring…and Scoring the Points!

Let the Cameras and Video’s Roll!

Indeed, it’s a new world…even the Vans Triple Crown couldn’t go live and went digital, too.

So Red Bull made an epic pivot on behalf of the world’s best Women Big Wave Riders…and created the first ever ‘Virtual’ Big Wave Comp!


ABOVE @kealakennelly, Outer Reef, December 2nd. Photo: Ha’a Keaulana/Red Bull Content Pool

Front Page @skylar_lickle, Jaws, December 2nd. Photo: Jackie Fiero/Red Bull Content Pool

New Women’s Big-Wave Video Contest Will Crown the Top Female Big-Wave Surfers of the 2020-2021 Hawaiian Winter Season.

Red Bull Magnitude, a women’s big-wave video contest, will take place across the Hawaiian Islands during December 1, 2020 – February 28, 2021.

The inaugural event will put the top waterwomen to the test and exemplify what it means to be a big-wave charger.

The three-month contest will take place at iconic breaks across Hawaii such as Jaws on Maui, Waimea Bay, and the outer reefs of Oahu’s North Shore.

Film crews will be on-hand to capture the action when the surf shows a sustained 15-foot Hawaiian wave height.

Competitors will have the option to work with their own film crew at any Hawaiian break so long that the waves captured meet the noted criteria.

There will be $40,000 in prize purse on the line with the “Overall Performance” winner set to receive $25,000.

This award will be given to the surfer who showcases the most consistent and progressive big-wave rides over the course of the season.

The “Runner Up,” “Best Ride,” and “Biggest Wave” category will each hold a $5,000 award.

@emi_erickson. Waimea Bay. Dec. 2nd. Photo: Ha’a Keaulana/Red Bull Content Pool

An esteemed panel of judges will determine the winners:

Rochelle Ballard: Three-time Surfer Poll winner

Betty Depolito: One of the first women to surf Pipeline & Waimea

Kai Lenny: Reigning “Overall Performance” winner of the Red Bull Big Wave Awards

Mark Healey: Winner of multiple big-wave related awards

Judges will convene from March 1-15, 2021 to select category winners, culminating in an awards ceremony on March 15.

Additionally, the “People’s Choice” award presented by Yeti, will open to public vote here during this time.

All awards will be announced on March 16, 2021.

Post a Comment

Back to Top