Starters & wildcards chosen for Nelscott Reef Pro/Am

10 Barrel Brewing’s Nelscott Reef Pro/Am Introduces Selection Process for Alternates

Surf News Network, 13 October, 2017: Lincoln City, Oregon – Due to overwhelming demand, 10 Barrel Brewing’s Nelscott Reef Pro/Am announced a new selection process for alternate slots in the 2017/18 season.

Organizers decided to take a unique approach to choosing alternates for this year.  Alternates will be chosen by a public voting system, which will be open for 7 days, to mark the opening of the holding period for the big wave season in Oregon.

“There was a higher  than anticipated demand for competing in this year’s Nelscott Pro/Am”, said event organizer, Gabe Smith.  “We were, and still are, getting calls daily from people that want in.  So, we decided to bring the community in to help make the decision for us, which I think is a first for the Big Wave community”.

Organizers looked at several different approaches to choose from the over 40 athletes that are vying for a chance to get into the contest, and after a suggestion from the teenage son of Safety Director, Eric Akiskalian decided on an approach that relies strictly on community input.  Voting will be done through the event website and will be open for 7 days.  During that time, the athletes that collect the most likes will earn their spot on the list.  There will be 15 alternate slots that will go to the most liked athletes on the website.  Ranking will align with the total number of votes.

Voting will start at 12:01 AM on October 15th and will end 7 days later, at midnight on October 21st via the event website at

In addition to the voting system, organizers are excited to announce 4 Wildcard slots.

These go to Nelscott veterans, Peter Mel and Garrett McNamara, Mavericks charger, Ben Andrews, and Oregon up and comer Tyler Muth.

Title Sponsor
10 Barrel Brewing

Supporting Sponsors
Chinook Winds Casino
Roby’s Furniture
Drone Age Media
Stay Covered
Quatic Apparel
Big Sur Bar
Inn at Lincoln City
Xtreme Amateur Games

Men’s Event:
Jeremy Rasmussen – OR
Tony Perez – OR
Tyler Cunningham – OR
Greg Long – CA
Kohl Christenson – HI
Alex Gray – CA
Jamie Sterling – HI
Grant ‘Twiggy’ Baker – SA
Andres Flores – CA
Jamie Mitchell – AUS
Will Skudin – NY
Cliff Skudin – NY
Kealii Mamala – HI
Nick Lamb – CA
Travis Payne – CA
Collin Dwyer – CA
Trevor Sven-Carlson – HI
Rafael Tapia – CHI
Kai Lenny – HI
Christopher Mumford – CA
Andrew Cotton – UK
Hugo Vau – PORT
Lucas Chumbo – BRA
Landon McNamara – HI

Women’s Event:
Savannah Shaughnessy – CA
Emily Erickson – HI
Jamilah Star – CA
Bianca Valenti – CA
Paige Alms – HI
Sarah Gerdhart – CA
Andrea Moller – BRA
Silvia Nabuco – BRA
Justine Dupont – FRA
Nicole Pacelli – BRA
Keala Kennelly – HI
Easkey Britton – IRE

Nelscott Surf

Post a Comment

Back to Top