LAY DAY CALLED AT BILLABONG PIPE MASTERS. Click in for the forecast and heats…

 IN MEMORY OF ANDY IRONS. Surf’s 3′ average  from the dropping NNE and poor onshore west winds by 8am. We have support of 3′ later from a 15 sec WNW. The real surf kicks in all day Friday from the NW mainly with a peak of 10′ in the afternoon but terrible onshore Konas are expected. SNN. Looks the same for Saturday at this time. Best bet for the final 2 days left of comp look like Sunday-Monday on a solid double to triple overhead NW filling Sunday with perfect straight offshore SE winds. SNN.   
Former Pipe Master Bede Durbidge (AUS) is back in action after suffering a sidelining injury at Pipe last year. Durbidge will face Adrian Buchan (AUS) in elimination Round 2 Heat 5 of the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons.
Image: © WSL /  Poullenot
Location:      Banzai Pipeline, Oahu, Hawaii 
Event window:   December 8 – 20, 2016
Today’s call:   Competition called OFF for the day
Conditions:   3 – 4 foot (1 metre)

BANZAI PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii (Thursday, December 15, 2016) –  After witnessing exciting action in Round 1 of the final stop on the 2016 Samsung Galaxy World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT),  the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, a lay day has been called. Competition is off for the day due to strong onshore winds at Pipe.

“This wind that was in the forecast just hit the coast and wrecked the conditions,” said WSL Deputy Commissioner Renato Hickel. “The winds are really strong, so we are calling the competition off for the day, but will meet again tomorrow at 7:30 a.m. local time.”

Event organizers will reconvene at 7:30 a.m. (local time) tomorrow to reassess conditions and make the next call.

When competition resumes, Round 2 will see all surfers battle to avoid an early elimination from the event, including individuals on the bubble whose last opportunity for requalification depends on their performance at Pipe.

Keanu Asing (HAW) is right on the cut line for requalification for the 2017 CT. He will face rookie Kanoa Igarashi (USA) in Heat 12. The young Hawaiian will need to pull out all the stops in order to keep competing on the elite tour next season.

The competition will also see exciting match-ups, including defending Pipe Master Adriano de Souza (BRA) against former Pipe Master Bruce Irons (HAW) in Heat 2. Frederico Morais (PRT), current leader of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing and qualifier for the 2017 CT, will face Sebastian Zietz (HAW) in Heat 4.

Up first will be Kolohe Andino (USA) against wildcard Gavin Beschen (HAW) in the opening heat of Round 2 when competition gets back underway.

Confidence continues to increase that we’ll see solid, but low quality, surf on Fri-Sat from a couple different sources. The nearby storm, which will produce the majority of the swell, has started to develop and, thus far, looks in line with model guidance.

At this point we expect a broad directional spread (300-350) and large spread in swell period (8-16 seconds), with jumbled surf running in the well overhead up to triple overhead range when the swell peaks Friday afternoon. Similar surf looks likely for Saturday morning, with a decreasing trend through the day. Onshore wind is expected both days. Surfline.

The Billabong Pipe Masters will be webcast LIVE on

Oceanic Time Warner Cable 250 & 1250

For more information, check out

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 2 Match-Ups:
Heat 1:
Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Gavin Beschen (HAW)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Finn McGill (HAW)
Heat 4: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) vs. Frederico Morais (PRT)
Heat 5: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Heat 6: Caio Ibelli (BRA) vs. Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 8: Stuart Kennedy (AUS) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 9: Conner Coffin (USA) vs. Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 10: Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) vs. Davey Cathels (AUS)
Heat 11: Nat Young (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 12: Keanu Asing (HAW) vs. Kanoa Igarashi (USA)

Post a Comment

Back to Top