It’s ON for Sunday. The Billabong Pipe Masters! Surf’s clean, glassy 3-4′ NNW & building. Mixed with a dropping 5′ NNE. Partly clear with light SE winds filling. Mostly Backdoor. SNN.


Kolohe Andino (HAW) will be first to compete today against wildcard Gavin Beschen (HAW) in Heat 1 of elimination Round 2 at the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons.
Image: © WSL /  Poullenot

Location:      Banzai Pipeline, Oahu, Hawaii 
Event window:   December 8 – 20, 2016
Today’s call:   Competition called ON – Round 2 starts at 8AM
Conditions:   3 – 5 foot building surf (1 – 1.5 metre)

BANZAI PIPELINE, Oahu/Hawaii (Sunday, December 18, 2016) – Competition at the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, the final stop on the 2016 Samsung Galaxy World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), will resume today starting with elimination Round 2. Action will commence at 8 a.m. (local time) in building three-to-five foot surf with 40 minute, overlapping heats.

“We’ve been watching things out there for a while this morning and things are a little slow but there are some great waves when they come,” said WSL Commissioner Kieren Perrow. “Backdoor is really firing so we are on. We’re starting Round 2 at 8 a.m. and will be going into Round 3 and running the overlapping heats format so we can get as much as possible done today”.

Round 2 Heat 2 will see defending Pipe Master Adriano de Souza (BRA) take on former Pipe Master Bruce Irons (HAW).

Frederico Morais (PRT), current leader of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing and qualifier for the 2017 CT, will face Sebastian Zietz (HAW) in Heat 4.

Keanu Asing (HAW), who is right on the requalification bubble for the 2017 CT, will face rookie Kanoa Igarashi (USA) in Heat 12 and will have to pull out all the stops in order to keep his place on the elite tour.

With this season’s extremely competitive Rookie of the Year race, the rookies will have the chance to make their case at Pipe. Round 2 will see multiple head-to-head rookie match-ups, including Conner Coffin (USA) against Jack Freestone (AUS) in Heat 9, and Caio Ibelli (BRA) facing Ryan Callinan (AUS) in Heat 6.

Up first will be Kolohe Andino (USA) against wildcard Gavin Beschen (HAW) in the opening heat of Round 2.

The Billabong Pipe Masters will be webcast LIVE on

Oceanic Time Warner Cable 250 & 1250

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 2 Match-Ups:
Heat 1:
Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Gavin Beschen (HAW)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Finn McGill (HAW)
Heat 4: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) vs. Frederico Morais (PRT)
Heat 5: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Heat 6: Caio Ibelli (BRA) vs. Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Heat 7: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 8: Stuart Kennedy (AUS) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 9: Conner Coffin (USA) vs. Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 10: Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) vs. Davey Cathels (AUS)
Heat 11: Nat Young (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 12: Keanu Asing (HAW) vs. Kanoa Igarashi (USA)


OR OC250

Post a Comment

Back to Top