Invitees announced for the 30th Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau

The list of official 2014/15 Invitees and Alternates for the 30th annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, at Waimea Bay, have been announced.

The famous big wave surfing event will be run if waves meet a 20-foot minimum height (Hawaiian Scale), during the holding period of December 1st, 2014, through February 28, 2015.

“The Eddie” honors Hawaiian waterman and hero Eddie Aikau, 31, who lost his life somewhere in the Pacific Ocean in search of help for the stranded crew members of Hokule’a.

Filled with a pure passion to ride giant surf, take care of his fellow man, and uphold his Hawaiian culture and family values, Aikau became the benchmark by which all big wave riders are measured.

The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau has only been held a total of eight times: it’s inaugural year at Sunset Beach, and then seven more times at its permanent home of Waimea Bay. “The Eddie” was last held on December 9th, 2009, won by California’s Greg Long.

If “The Bay Calls The Day”, Bruce Irons, Clyde Aikau, Garrett Mcnamara, Grant Baker, Jamie O’Brien, Kelly Slater, Makua Rothman, Peter Mel, Shane Dorian, Ross Clarke-Jones, Jeremy Flores and many more will hit the giants.

InviteesAaron Gold
Bruce Irons
Clyde Aikau
Dave Wassel
Garrett Mcnamara
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie Mitchell
Jamie O’Brien
Jamie Sterling
John John Florence
Kala Alexander
Kelly Slater
Kohl Christensen
Makua Rothman
Mark Healey
Nathan Fletcher
Noah Johnson
Peter Mel
Reef Mcintosh
Ramon Navarro
Shane Dorian
Sunny Garcia
Ross Clarke-Jones
Takayuki Wakita
Tom Carroll
Jeremy Flores
AlternatesMason Ho
Koa Rothman
Kalani Chapman
Danilo Couto
Billy Kemper
Anthony Tashnick
Carlos Burle
Albee Layer
Ross Williams
Ben Wilkinson
Danny Fuller
Kealii Mamala
Michael Ho
Kai Lenny
Shawn Dollar
Gabriel Villaran
Evan Valiere
Kahea Hart
Keoni Watson
Derek Dunfee
Koby Abberton
Mark Mathews
Alex Gray
Laurie Towner

Post a Comment

Back to Top