Surf n Sea 728×90 generic 2.1.23—

John John Florence Wins his First (50th Annual) Billabong Pipe Masters. Tyler Wright Wins over Carissa Moore.

JJF fulfills his life long dream and now leads the Tour… Brings back the Pipe Masters Trophy to Hawaii.

Surf’s cleaned up in the 4-5′ (local size) at 14sec on the new pulse of WNW-NW.

SNN Team

Slater takes out young prodigy Jack Robinson in first heat of the day…this is Kelly’s 80 World Tour heat win!

The first stop of the World Surf League (WSL) 2021 Championship Tour (CT).

Today will be a historic day for surfing as the women will compete at the world-famous Banzai Pipeline for the first time in CT history to complete the final rounds of the Maui Pro presented by ROXY.

The men’s Round of 16 for the Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons presented by Hydro Flask will kick off the day at 8:02 a.m. HST, and will be followed by the men’s Quarterfinals, women’s Quarterfinals, women’s Semifinals, men’s Semifinals, and the women’s and men’s Finals.

“It’s the final day of the competition window and we have a new swell out of the northwest with some good conditions and good winds,” said Marty Thomas, WSL Hawaii Competition Director,

We are going to finish the competition today and wrap things up around 4 p.m., HST.”

In a historic moment for surfing, the final day of the Maui Pro presented by ROXY marks the first time a women’s CT event has ever been held at the Banzai Pipeline. Sage Erickson (USA) and Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) will be the first women to enter the water for Heat 4 of the Quarterfinals to determine who will face four-time World Champion Carissa Moore (HAW) in the second Semifinal. Tyler Wright (AUS), who surfed a Perfect 10 earlier in competition, will face Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) in Semifinal 1 on Oahu.

“This is a huge day for the women,” said Jessi Miley-Dyer, Vice President of Tours and Competition, “To be here at Pipeline, the biggest stage in Hawaii and one of the biggest stages in the world of surfing is a huge honor. I know the women are really excited to compete here today, and hopefully, we put on a great show. It’s a huge moment for the Women’s Championship Tour.”

For the men, 11-time World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) and rookie Jack Robinson (AUS) will hit the waves first to compete in Heat 4 in the Round of 16. So far, Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA), winner of the Injury Wildcard surf-off, two-time World Champion, John Florence (HAW), and Jordy Smith (ZAF) have won heats in the Round of 16 and will advance to the Quarterfinals.

Maui Pro presented by ROXY Remaining Quarterfinal Matchup:
Heat 4: Sage Erickson (USA) vs. Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA)

Maui Pro pres. by ROXY Semifinal Matchups:
Heat 1: 
Tyler Wright (AUS) vs. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
Heat 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) vs. TBD

Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask Remaining Round of 16 Matchups:
Heat 4:
 Kelly Slater (USA), Jack Robinson (AUS)
Heat 5: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Ryan Callinan (AUS)
Heat 6: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 7: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Jack Freestone (AUS)
Heat 8: Jadson Andre (BRA), Kanoa Igarashi (JAP)

Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask Quarterfinal Matchups:
QF 1: 
Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) vs. John John Florence (HAW)
QF 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. TBD
QF 3: TBD vs. TBD
QF 4: TBD vs. TBD

Watch the Billabong Pipe Masters presented by Hydro Flask and Maui Pro presented by ROXY LIVE on and the free WSL app.

The competition is carried locally in Hawaii by the Spectrum Surf Channel. Also, check local listings for coverage from the WSL’s broadcast partners.

Post a Comment

Back to Top