Cast your vote for the 2014 Surfer Poll Awards

Surfer Poll expands number of nominees to accommodate submissions

Surf News Network, 27 November, 2014 .SURFER Magazine is pleased to announce the 2014 Surfer Poll video nominees. Every year, SURFER pores over the films and shorts produced in the previous calendar year, and narrows down the best movies and performances. This year, there were so many noteworthy sessions and performances caught on tape, we’ve expanded the number of nominees in several categories to accommodate. We’ve also again opened up the Worst Wipeout category to SURFER readers, allowing them to vote online for the most harrowing wipeout and ultimately choose the winner. Vote now through 11/30.

Here are the 2014 Surfer Poll nominees:

Best Barrel
Kelly Slater, Pipeline, from The Barrel
Dean Morrison, The Right, from Big Wave Hellmen
Koa Smith, Skeleton Bay, from Diamond Of The Desert
Gabriel Villaran, Puerto Escondido, from Dos Dias
Matahi Drollet, Teahupoo, from Tahiti

Best Maneuver
John John Florence, Attractive Distractions
Josh Kerr, Kerrzy
Kelly Slater, Tour Notes
Albee Layer, Attractive Distractions
Matt Meola, Attractive Distractions
Heavy Water
Shane Dorian
Albee Layer
Mark Mathews
Greg Long
Grant “Twiggy” Baker

Best Performance
Dane Reynolds, Loaded
Albee Layer, Attractive Distractions
Jamie O’Brien, Live from the Moon
Josh Kerr, KerrzyMatt Meola, Attractive Distractions
Creed McTaggart, Strange Rumblings in Shangri La
Best Short
Swamp Duck
Cheese II
Whatever Happened
Slaber Nackle

Best Documentary
Stephanie In The Water, directed by Ava Warbrick
Bella Vita, directed by Jason Baffa
Thundercloud, directed by Talon Clemlow
Big Wave Hellmen, Paul Taublieb
Beyond the Surface, Crystal Thornburg-Homcy & Dave Homcy

Movie of the Year
Loaded, directed by Dane Reynolds
Get-N Classic Vol. 3, directed by Graham Nash & Reagan Ritchie
Strange Rumblings in Shangri La, directed by Joe G.
Attractive Distractions, directed by Dan Norkunas & Albee Layer
I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night, directed by Dustin Humphrey

Worst Wipeout
Jamie Mitchell, Belharra, from Big Wave Hellmen
Julian Wilson, Pipeline, from Winter in Hawaii
Shane Dorian, Jaws, from Big Wave Hellmen
Brad Norris, The Right, from Big Wave Hellmen
Billy Kemper, Puerto Escondido, from Big Wave Hellmen
Shawn Dollar, Mavericks, Big Wave Hellmen
Niccolo Porcella, Jaws, from Attractive Distractions
Dege O’Connell, Jaws, from Attractive Distractions
Kaito Ohashi, Pipeline, from Black Friday
Myron Porter, The Right, from Big Wave Hellmen

The 2014 Surfer Poll, which will be broadcast live from Oahu on Dec. 6 beginning at 7 p.m. HST, will also include awards for the Top 10 Men and Top 5 Women, as well as A.I.  Breakthrough Performer and Agent of Change.

Post a Comment

Back to Top