Surf News Network – (November 5, 2015) – The culmination of a dramatic year on the World Surf League tour all comes down to one prestigious series: the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii. More than the money, the most coveted titles and points are up for grabs in the series, including the esteemed 2015 Samsung Galaxy World Championship Title and a shared prize purse of nearly 1.2 million dollars. The competition begins Thursday, November 12.

Along with the world title, there are the hotly contested individual titles that will be awarded to the champions of: the Vans Triple Crown; the Hawaiian Pro; the Vans World Cup of Surfing; and the Billabong Pipe Masters. With the potential of bringing a handful of new faces to next year’s Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour, the Hawaiian Pro and Vans World Cup of Surfing play an integral role in securing game changing points for qualification, heating up the race for the final battle at the legendary Billabong Pipe Masters.

Now in its 33rd year of distinction, the three-event series is the longest running and most respected celebration of professional surfing in the world, representing a history deeply rooted in Hawaii’s intrinsic and cultural sport of surfing. Twenty-seven of the Top 34 men of the WSL Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour have signed up for all three Vans Triple Crown of Surfing (VTCS) events, including Gabriel Medina (BRA), John John Florence (HAW), Julian Wilson (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF) and Nat Young (USA). Current Jeep ratings leader Mick Fanning (AUS), and 11X world champion Kelly Slater (USA) will arrive in time for the Billabong Pipe Masters only.

After the completion of the official local qualifier for the Vans Triple Crown – the HIC Pro – in exceptional, large surf last Saturday, the North Pacific has entered a restful spell. Anticipation is high for the next Pacific pulse of big surf that will set the stage for this battle royale.

Total prize purse: $1,185,000

Hawaiian Pro, Haleiwa (November 12 – November 23) – 128 surfers compete for the $250,000 prize purse at Haleiwa, a fickle surf break that is known to deliver powerful walls for high performance surfing.

Vans World Cup of Surfing, Sunset Beach (November 24 – December 6)– Also featuring 128 surfers and a $250,000 prize purse, the Vans World Cup of Surfing takes place at one of the moschallenging big waves on the planet.

The Pipe Masters Invitational – This specialty event offers 26 local Pipeline chargers, plus 6 wildcards, the chance to compete for a $100,000 cash prize purse as well as two spots into the most coveted gem of the series: the Billabong Pipe Masters.

Women’s Pipe Specialty Event – An invitational for four of the World Surf League’s top ranked women to share the most globally televised pro surfing stage in the world, the Women’s Pipe Specialty Event offers a $10,000 prize purse.

Billabong Pipe Masters, Pipeline (December 8 – December 20) – The final stop on the WSL Samsung Galaxy Championship Tour, this event boasts a staggering $525,000 prize purse and ground-shaking performances at the world’s best barreling wave, Pipeline.

Vans Triple Crown Bonus – A $50,000 cash bonus will be awarded to the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing champion – the top performing surfer across all three events that comprise the series.

FOR MORE CONTEST INFO PLEASE VISIT -> www.vanstriplecrownofsurfing.com

Post a Comment

Back to Top