2024 Championship Tour Continues at Upcoming MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal

Focus Shifts to Europe for Stop No. 3 of 10 from March 6 through 16

Event Wildcards and Injury Replacements Announced

Pictured: The spectacular Supertubos on a gentle day. Credit: © WSL / Thiago Diz

PRAIA DE SUPERTUBOS, Peniche, Portugal (Thursday, February 29, 2024) – The world’s best surfers will soon be heading over to Europe for Stop No. 3 on the 2024 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), the MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal, from March 6 through 16, 2024. Tension is on the rise as athletes find themselves at the halfway point of the first five events before fields are reduced by the Mid-season Cut.

Competition got underway in Hawaii for the first two events of the season and witnessed incredible action at Pipeline and Sunset with performances for the history books, especially on the women’s side. A new generation of chargers have put it all on the line in waves of consequence and have taken over the rankings top spots from Tour veterans.

Pictured: National hero Frederico Morais (POR) on a picture-perfect day in Peniche. Credit: © WSL / Poullenot

Next Up, the Shifting Peaks of Supertubos

A dramatic change of scenery will see surfers take on much colder water but similar throaty and powerful conditions at the next stop in Peniche. The praia de Supertubos is famous for its unforgiving barrels, really shallow waters and powerful rips as the Atlantic tides move up and down the sandbars.

The large and loud Portuguese crowds and white sands complete the scenery at the only tour stop on the Old Continent which continues to be a fan and surfers’ favorite. When conditions align, Supertubos can deliver world class tubes up and down the beach, but athletes will need to count on ocean knowledge and adaptability as conditions can change in a heartbeat.

2024 will mark the 15th edition of the event in Peniche. What was originally a quiet fishing village has become known worldwide as one of the most wave-rich zones in Europe and now boasts dozens of surf camps, technical shops which welcome thousands of traveling surfers year-round.

Event Wildcards and Injury Replacements Announced

The 2022 World Junior Champion Francisca Veselko (POR) will enter the draw as the women’s wildcard for a first taste of the highest level of professional surfing. The Carcavelos local had a solid run on the Challenger Series last season, finishing 12th overall, and will have an opportunity to ruffle some feathers at Supertubos with her local knowledge of the lineup.

Sophie McCulloch (AUS) who qualified for the 2023 CT but wasn’t able to requalify ultimately, has received the replacement spot for Carissa Moore’s spot up until the Mid-season Cut and will compete in Portugal again where she finished fifth last season.

In the men’s, the current Portuguese national champion Joaquim Chaves (POR) was awarded the MEO wildcard spot, and he’ll be joined by Marco Mignot (FRA), the highest European ranked on the Challenger Series last season. A former finalist at Supertubos, Joan Duru (FRA) will be in the draw as well, stepping in to replace Joao Chianca (BRA), who continues his recovery.

For more information, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com.

MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal Women’s Opening Round Matchups:
HEAT 1: Caitlin Simmers (USA), Isabella Nichols (AUS), Alyssa Spencer (USA)
HEAT 2: Molly Picklum (AUS), Luana Silva (BRA), Sophie McCulloch (AUS)
HEAT 3: Caroline Marks (USA), Gabriela Bryan (HAW), Francisca Veselko (POR)
HEAT 4: Bettylou Sakura Johnson (HAW), Lakey Peterson (USA), Sawyer Lindblad (USA)
HEAT 5: Johanne Defay (FRA), Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA), India Robinson (AUS)
HEAT 6: Tyler Wright (AUS), Brisa Hennessy (CRC), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)

MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal Men’s Opening Round Matchups:
HEAT 1: Connor O’Leary (JPN), Jake Marshall (USA), Cole Houshmand (USA)
HEAT 2: Barron Mamiya (HAW), Imaikalani Devault (HAW), Deivid Silva (BRA)
HEAT 3: Griffin Colapinto (USA), Callum Robson (AUS), Kelly Slater (USA)
HEAT 4: John John Florence (HAW), Jacob Willcox (AUS), Marco Mignot (FRA)
HEAT 5: Ethan Ewing (AUS), Rio Waida (INA), Joan Duru (FRA)
HEAT 6: Jack Robinson (AUS), Crosby Colapinto (USA), Joaquim Chaves (POR)
HEAT 7: Jordy Smith (RSA), Matthew McGillivray (RSA), Kade Matson (USA)
HEAT 8: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), Seth Moniz (HAW), Eli Hanneman (HAW)
HEAT 9: Ryan Callinan (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR)
HEAT 10: Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Samuel Pupo (BRA)
HEAT 11: Ian Gentil (HAW), Italo Ferreira (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA)
HEAT 12: Yago Dora (BRA), Liam O’Brien (AUS), Frederico Morais (POR)

Watch LIVE
The MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal is the next stop on the 2024 Championship Tour. The competition window opens on March 6 and closes on March 16, 2024. The competition will be broadcast LIVE on WorldSurfLeague.com, the free WSL app, and the WSL’s YouTube channelCheck out more ways to watch from the WSL’s broadcast partners. For fans watching in the United States, coverage of the competition’s Quarterfinals and beyond will continue co-exclusively on WorldSurfLeague.com and ESPN+.

The MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal is proudly supported by MEO, Rip Curl, Corona, YETI, SHISEIDO, Eventbrite, Red Bull, Apple Watch, Bonsoy, True Surf, Surfline, Oeste Portugal, EDP, Millennium BCP, Hertz, Portugal Tourism, and Munícipio de Peniche. 

For more information, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com.

Post a Comment

Back to Top