SURF N SEA BLOW OUT 11.16-1.31.23  728X90

Stop #8 could go this Thursday!

Brazil Anticipates Return of World’s Best Surfers to Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona 

  • João Chianca and Sol Aguirre Awarded Event Wildcards
  • Yago Dora, Michael Rodrigues, and Miguel Tudela To Replace Injured Surfers Kelly Slater, John John Florence, and Seth Moniz
  • More Available at

SAQUAREMA, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Monday, June 20, 2022) – The World Surf League (WSL) is revving up for the 2022 Oi Rio Pro presented by Corona, Stop No. 8 on the WSL 2022 Championship Tour (CT).

Saquarema will play host to the world’s best surfers starting Thursday, June 23, with the waiting period through Thursday, June 30.

As the third competition following the Mid-season Cut, the fight for the WSL Final 5 is taking shape on the road to the Rip Curl WSL Finals.

Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Wildcard and Injury Updates

Gabriel Medina (BRA) and Caroline Marks (USA) will continue to compete in the back-half of the 2022 WSL CT competitions as the WSL season wildcards.

John John Florence (HAW) has withdrawn from the Oi Rio Pro to continue his recovery from a torn MCL and will be replaced by Michael Rodrigues (BRA), the highest-ranked Brazilian surfer on the men’s Challenger Series. Seth Moniz (HAW) continues to recover from his knee injury and will be replaced by Miguel Tudela (PER), the men’s Latin America Qualifying Series rankings’ leader. Yago Dora (BRA), the 2023 WSL season wildcard and 2022 injury replacement, will replace 11-time WSL Champion Kelly Slater (USA), who has withdrawn due to injury.

Sol Aguirre (PER) will join the world’s best surfers as the Oi Rio Pro wildcard, following her success at the Copa Sails of Change Galápagos and ROXY Iquique Pro Qualifying Series events. João Chianca (BRA) will return to the CT as the men’s event wildcard. Chianca was a standout in the first half of the CT season but missed the opportunity to advance after falling below the Mid-season Cut.

All Eyes on Ranking Leaders Filipe Toledo and Carissa Moore at Oi Rio Pro

The 2021 CT runner-up and the current rankings leader, Filipe Toledo (BRA), is the best surfer in the 5-year history of Oi Rio Pro, winning three of the five events held between 2015 and 2019. Toledo won the first Oi Rio Pro in 2015, with the first two 10-point rides in the event’s history, at Postinho, Barra da Tijuca. The other two titles were in 2018 and 2019 in Saquarema, where Toledo only lost one heat in the three-year history on the Brazilian leg of the CT.

Five-time WSL Champion and Olympic Gold medalist, Carissa Moore (HAW), leads the CT rankings by 1,775 points heading into the Oi Rio Pro. Having entered into last year’s Rip Curl WSL Finals as the top-seeded surfer, Moore is out to keep that advantage by continuing her lead on the field. Since joining the CT, Moore has found much success in Brazil with consistent placings in the Quarterfinals or higher, along with her runner-up finish in the last edition of the Oi Rio Pro in 2019.

Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Women’s Opening Round 1 Matchups: 
HEAT 1: Brisa Hennessy (CRI), Lakey Peterson (USA), Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA)
HEAT 2: Carissa Moore (HAW), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Sol Aguirre (PER)
HEAT 3: Johanne Defay (FRA), Isabella Nichols (AUS), Caroline Marks (USA)
HEAT 4: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Tyler Wright (AUS), Gabriela Bryan (HAW)Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona Men’s Opening Round 1 Matchups: 
HEAT 1: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Yago Dora (BRA)
HEAT 2: Griffin Colapinto (USA), Matthew McGillivray (ZAF), João Chianca (BRA)
HEAT 3: Jack Robinson (AUS), Jake Marshall (USA), Michael Rodrigues (BRA)
HEAT 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Samuel Pupo (BRA), Miguel Tudela (PER)
HEAT 5: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Gabriel Medina (BRA)
HEAT 6: Ethan Ewing (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF), Jackson Baker (AUS)
HEAT 7: Callum Robson (AUS), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
HEAT 8: Barron Mamiya (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Nat Young (USA)For more information, please visit
The Oi Rio Pro Presented by Corona will open on June 23 and hold a competition window through June 30. Once called ON, the event will be broadcast LIVE on WorldSurfLeague.comWSL’s YouTube channel, and the free WSL app. Check local listings for coverage from the WSL’s broadcast partners. For fans watching in Brazil, coverage of the competition’s Quarterfinals and beyond will continue exclusively on and SporTV.

Post a Comment

Back to Top