Opening Ceremony: Eddie Will Go…Surf permitting.

Younger Brother Clyde has held up Eddie’s honor for decades.

Front Page: Surfers and ceremony attendees gathered around Hokule’a for the traditional start of the Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational. (Image: Hawaii News Now)

The celebrated opening ceremony for the Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational took place at Waimea Bay Thursday, Nov 27, just four days after one of the Biggest NW swells in ages.

The ceremony featured the Legendary Aikau family, invited Big Wave Riders, along with Hokulea and throngs of admirers, young and old.

“We’re so privileged to share that with the public and the world, and with Hokulea in the background, it’s just chicken skin,” claimed Eddie’s younger brother, Clyde Aikau.

The last time the Eddie was held was in 2016, in the largest surf the event had ever seen, and John John Florence Won.

The cultural and athletic contest faced some challenges in recent years, but thanks to the amazing support of three new sponsors.

Special Thanks goes to these people wanting to “acknowledge and align with Eddie’s Hawaiian roots”.

The Aikau family now has support from Kamehameha Schools, Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA), and Waimea Valley.
“The Aikaus have partnered with new sponsors to celebrate and honor the life and legacy of our brother, Eddie,” said Solomon Aikau.

Opening Ceremonies kicked-off off the waiting period Thursday, November 29th at 2:00 pm.

Surfers will get a shot at the coveted title: Eddie Will Go…Surf permitting.

SNN outlook. So far models suggest a BIG 12-18+’ NW on the way for Wednesday and Thursday of next week Dec 5 & 6. It fills in Wednesday but again it seems as though the size may be just a notch too small for The Eddie standard of 15-25′ average during one full day. Indeed, the waves on this next one will not be as big as the XXL we just had Monday 11/24. SNN.

The one-day event can only take place if and when waves meet a 20-foot minimum height during the holding period of Dec. 1, 2018, through Feb. 28, 2019.

Twenty-eight surfers and nearly 60 alternates were invited this year:


  • Grant Baker
  • Lucas Chianca
  • Ross Clarke-Jones
  • Danilo Couto
  • Shane Dorian
  • Nathan Fletcher
  • John John Florence
  • Nathan Florence
  • Sunny Garcia
  • Aaron Gold
  • Mark Healey
  • Mason Ho
  • Bruce Irons
  • Billy Kemper
  • Keala Kennelly
  • Ekeziel Lau
  • Kai Lenny
  • Greg Long
  • Keali‘i Mamala
  • Garrett McNamara
  • Jamie Mitchell
  • Jamie O’Brien
  • Joel Parkinson
  • Makuakai Rothman
  • Koa Rothman
  • Kelly Slater
  • Takayuki Wakita
  • Ian Walsh
  • Dave Wassel


  1. Kyle Shipman
  2. Michael Ho
  3. Landon McNamara
  4. Luke Shepardson
  5. Ramon Navarro
  6. Reef McIntosh
  7. Kohl Christensen
  8. Chris Owens
  9. Tyler Laron
  10. Ben Wilkinson
  11. Kala Alexander
  12. Rodrigo Koxa
  13. Tom Carroll
  14. Paige Alms (for Keala Kennelly)
  15. Mark Mathew
  16. Jamie Sterling
  17. Shawn Dollar
  18. Carlos Burle
  19. Gabriel Villaran
  20. Kahea Hart
  21. Damien Hobgood
  22. Kalani Chapman
  23. Ryan Hipwood
  24. Danny Fuller
  25. Nic Lamb
  26. Anthony Tashnick
  27. Rusty Long
  28. Derek Dunfee
  29. Jeremy Flores
  30. Noah Johnson
  31. Peter Mel
  32. Andrew Cotton
  33. Duane DeSoto
  34. Kainoa McGee
  35. Ikaika Kalama
  36. Tyler Fox
  37. Brad Gerlach
  38. Vincent Lartizen
  39. Mike Parsons
  40. Axi Muniain
  41. Benjamin Sanchis
  42. Damien Warr
  43. Sebastian Steudtner
  44. Eric Akiskalian
  45. Dan Corbett
  46. Francisco Porcella
  47. Antonio Silva
  48. Gautier Garanx
  49. Antonio Balau
  50. Mick Corbett
  51. Jarryd Foster
  52. Lance Hoʻokano
  53. Rusty Keaulana
  54. Hugo Vau
  55. Pedro Scooby
  56. Yuri Soledade
  57. Trevor Sven Carlson

Post a Comment

Back to Top