Thursday, October 02, 2014 596-SURF , 596-WAVE , 922-BONG , 638-RUSH , 572-SURF(MAUI) , 241-SURF (KAUAI) , 324-RUSH (BIG ISLAND)
Text Size
off 9/15. on 9/28

2014 noRep Boardshorts Hawaii Surfing Championship a Huge Success

This last weekend, May 31 - June 1 at Kewalos Basin in Honolulu, HI, noRep Boardshorts hosted the first of a 3 event series dedicated to giving Hawaii pro surfers their very own local contest.It is surprising that Hawaii - the surf capital of the world - has no events to give local surfers a chance to qualify to major ASP events. Nelson Ahina III is one of the best long boarders in the world and if he wants to qualify for the World Longboard Tour, he needs to travel to Japan for a qualifier! Not to mention local surfers that can’t enter the Triple Crown because they can’t travel to the qualifying events....

 Thus is the inspiration for the Hawaii Surfing Championship, a grassroots event run by surfers in the most professional way, with out forgetting the ultimate reason for doing it. Organizers Tomas Klooserboer (noRep Boardshorts owner) and pro longboarder Kai Sallas bring fresh blood and ideas, such as the groundbreaking live streaming of the event on

The goal of the Hawaii Surfing Championship is to establish a series of events, recruiting the best surfers in Hawaii and give them a chance to compete locally.

Local sponsors were equally important and supportive, with noRep Boardshorts as the title sponsor, with additional support from Kai Sallas Pro Surf School, Toes on the Nose, Surf Garage, JMC Boards, Surfing the Nations, Rainbow Drive-In, Surf News Network and Fisheye Hawaii.

Big Mahalo to Dustin Fernandez for the Artwork on the trophies.

PLease check this interview with Flynn Novak about the contest

Winners for the noRep Boardshorts Hawaii Surfing Championship @ Kewalos

Mens Division

1 Dustin Cuizon $1500

2 Josh Moniz  $750

3 Isaiah Moniz  $550

4 Randall Paulson  $400


Toes on the Nose Longboard Division

1 Kai Sallas $775

2 Nelson Ahina $375

3 Scotty Fong $175

4 Isaac Kaneshiro $175


Rainbow Drive-In Women’s Division

1 Mahina Maeda $375

2 Bailey Nagy $175

3 Missy Valdez $75

4 Brittany Penaroza $75


Surf Garage Team Challenge

1st Green Hornetz - Cole Yamakawa - Kylen Yamakawa - Zeke Lau / $1200

2nd Place: Team Yatta - Noa Mizuno, Kaito Kino, Kaulana Apo / $300


 Next contest at Bowls! 6/21-6/22


Add comment

Security code


Login Form