Sunday, September 21, 2014 596-SURF , 596-WAVE , 922-BONG , 638-RUSH , 572-SURF(MAUI) , 241-SURF (KAUAI) , 324-RUSH (BIG ISLAND)
Text Size
off 2/20/14; off 3/27. on 4/4. on 7/20/14 off 8/6. On 9/15
off 3/17/14. On 4/10 off 4/ 5/1. off 8/15. off 8/21

Stop #3 - The Billabong Pipeline Masters - Dec.8th-20th

The Billabong Pipe Masters is the quintessential event in professional surfing and Pipeline is the Holy Grail of waves by which all others are measured. The third and final jewel in the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, the Pipe Masters is one of the longest running events in professional surfing, even pre-dating the Triple Crown by more than a decade.


Breaking just 75 yards off the beach, Pipeline is at once a surfer’s ultimate dream and worst nightmare. It has claimed the lives of more surfers than any other famous break. The beach tremors as waves detonate on Pipeline’s extremely shallow reef and spectators can literally feel the energy of the ocean and the precarious tension as a surfer drops into one of Pipeline’s hollow, grinding lefts. Any wipeout at Pipeline is a bad one, no matter how big the surf, and the consequences are serious—from injury to death. At Pipeline, it’s all about getting barreled, so the bigger the tube and deeper the rider, the bigger the risk, the better the score.


Pipeline is also the nexus for the evolution of the sport. In the early ’80s, Simon Anderson proved the utility of the tri-fin surfboard, his own invention, in the big, powerful surf. The fin set-up changed surfboard design and performance, a paradigm to this day. Kelly Slater also brought change to the surf world in the early ’90s at Pipeline by making a habit of going right during competition surfing Backdoor, Pipeline’s twisted twin. A racing, draining barrel that often closes out, Slater proved that riding shorter surfboards and taking off late under the lip was a recipe for success in the lineup. Seeking out the tricky Backdoor barrels opened up the playing field at Pipeline and signaled a new era in how these waves are surfed in competition.


Billabong Pipe Masters Champions

2012 - Joel Parkinson, Australia
2011 - Kieren Perrow, Australia
2010 - Jeremy Flores, France
2009 - Taj Burrow, Australia
2008 - Kelly Slater, USA
2007 - Bede Durbidge, Australia
2006 - Andy Irons, Hawaii

2005 - Andy Irons, Hawaii

2004 - Jamie O’Brien, Hawaii

2003 - Andy Irons, Hawaii

2002 - Andy Irons, Hawaii

2001 - Bruce Irons, Hawaii

2000 - Rob Machado, USA

1999 - Kelly Slater, USA
1998 - Jake Paterson, Australia

1997 - John Gomes, Hawaii
1996 - Kelly Slater, USA

1995 - Kelly Slater, USA
1994 - Kelly Slater, USA

1993 - Derek Ho, Hawaii

1992 - Kelly Slater, USA
1991 - Tom Carroll, Australia

1990 - Tom Carroll, Australia

1989 - Gary Elkerton, Australia
1988 - Rob Page, Australia

1987 - Tom Carroll, Australia

1986 - Derek Ho, Hawaii
1985 - Mark Occhilupo, Australia
1984 - Joey Buran, USA
1983 - Dane Kealoha, Hawaii

1982 - Michael Ho, Hawaii

1981 - Simon Anderson, Australia

1980 - Mark Richards, Australia

1979 - Larry Blair, Australia

1978 - Larry Blair, Australia

1977 - Rory Russell, Hawaii
1976 - Rory Russell, Hawaii

1975 - Shaun Tomson, South Africa
1974 - Jeff Crawford, USA

1973 - Gerry Lopez, Hawaii
1972 - Gerry Lopez, Hawaii

1971 - Jeff Hakman, Hawaii 


Add comment

Security code


Login Form