Thursday, October 02, 2014 596-SURF , 596-WAVE , 922-BONG , 638-RUSH , 572-SURF(MAUI) , 241-SURF (KAUAI) , 324-RUSH (BIG ISLAND)
Text Size
off 9/15. on 9/28

Bethany & Alana host Keiki Classic on Kauai

Bethany Hamilton and Alana Blanchard teamed up with Rip Curl and Hanalei Surf to host their first ever Keiki Classic at Pinetrees, Hanalei Bay, on Saturday October 19th. An increasing northwest swell brought solid, thumping overhead surf, but the Kauai groms were up for the challenge.

The first heats of 12/under surfers hit the water at the break of dawn to steadily increasing sets. While every surfer should be congratulated for taking on the heavy line-up that day, ultimately, 12-year-old Tiare Thompson won the final for the highest combined heat score of the day in the Girls 12/under division and 11-year old Kainehe Hunt, took the top spot in the Boys 12/under division.

The Girls 16/under division surfed two heats and a final and Mainei Kinimaka, who was a clear standout all day, ultimately took the first place crown, just ahead of Ashlynn Owings and Mikayla Savoie, who came in 2nd and 3rd respectively. The Boys 16/under final was won by in-form Lucas Angulo, who edged out 2nd place Reece Leonard and 3rd place, Titus Leonard in some of the biggest, most challenging surf of the day.


Bethany & Alana Keiki Classic Results:

Girls 16/Under Final 
1)        Mainei Kinimaka 
2)        Kelta O‚ÄôRourke 
3)        Sunshine Patey 
4)        Ashlynn Owings 
5)        Mikayla Savoie 
6)        Tiana Tomoda Bannert

Boys 16/Under Final 
1)        Lucas Angulo 
2)        Reece Leonard 
3)        Titus Langridge 
4)        Daniel Lagana 
5)        Colby Sargent 
6)        Kai McIntyre

Girls 12/Under Final 
1)        Tiare Thompson 
2)        Keala Tomoda-Bannert 
3)        Kirra Pinkerton 
4)        Gabriela Bryan 
5)        Kaya Lucas 
6)        Madison Sargent

Boys 12/Under Final 
1)        Kainehe Hunt 
2)        Ryder Guest 
3)        Nathan Tucker 
4)        Sammy Gray 
5)        Cole Frye 
6)        Aaron Feeling

Bethany Hamilton Essay Contest Winners: 
Daniel Lagana 
Madi Makana Cate

Alana Blanchard Sportsmanship Award Winners: 
Sage Tuttekow 
Kaya Lucas

Add comment

Security code


Login Form