Wednesday, October 01, 2014 596-SURF , 596-WAVE , 922-BONG , 638-RUSH , 572-SURF(MAUI) , 241-SURF (KAUAI) , 324-RUSH (BIG ISLAND)
Text Size
off 9/15. on 9/28

Annual Surfer Poll Awards tonight at Turtle Bay

Just days before the 2012 World Title is determined in Hawaii, the year’s best surf films, performances, and surfers will be awarded at the 2012 SURFER Poll Awards. After the grueling task of culling through dozens of video submissions, the nominees have been narrowed down into just a handful for each category. SURFER Magazine is pleased to announce the video nominees in contention at this year’s event. The winners will be announced live from Turtle Bay and via webcast at this Thursday Dec. 6th....

"With 2012's massive swells at Cloudbreak and Jaws, this year's film submissions included some of the best footage we've seen in years," says SURFER Editor Brendon Thomas. "Never before have we had this many nominees across all categories from just a few sessions — from Best Barrel to Heavy Water to Worst Wipeout."

2012 Nominees are:

Best Barrel

Ian Walsh, Fiji Freight Trains
Reef McIntosh, Fiji Freight Trains
Clay Marzo, Let's Surf Seriously
John John Florence, Dear Suburbia
Shane Dorian, Seared Peahi
Dave Wassel, Fiji Freight Trains

Heavy Water
Reef McIntosh
Mark Healey
Shane Dorian
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Mark Mathews

Best Short
Seared Peahi
Electric Blue Heaven
Fiji Freight Trains
Ward Stories, Barbados Episode

Worst Wipeout
Mark Mathews, Fighting Fear
Laurie Towner, Immersion
James McKean, Immersion
Issac Stant, Seared Peahi
Matt Meola, Seared Peahi

Movie of the Year
Surf Madness
Bending Colours
Get-N Classic Volume 2
Dear Suburbia
This Time Tomorrow
Fighting Fear

Best Performance
John John Florence, Get-N Classic Volume 2 Dane Reynolds, Dear Suburbia Mason Ho, Elementary Jordy Smith, Bending Colours Jack Freestone, Daze at Sea Chippa Wilson, Let’s Surf Seriously

In addition to the video categories and unveiling of the SURFER Poll results for both the men and women, honors will be bestowed for the “Andy Irons Breakthrough Performer,” “Agent of Change,” and Lifetime Achievement.”

The 42nd annual SURFER Poll Awards will take place Dec. 6, 2012 at the Turtle Bay Resort on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii prior to the final event of the Triple Crown of Surfing.  Attendance is by invitation only, but the event will stream live to the world at beginning at 7 pm HST (9 pm PST, 12 am EST).

Add comment

Security code


Login Form