Wednesday, September 17, 2014 596-SURF , 596-WAVE , 922-BONG , 638-RUSH , 572-SURF(MAUI) , 241-SURF (KAUAI) , 324-RUSH (BIG ISLAND)
Text Size
off 2/20/14; off 3/27. on 4/4. on 7/20/14 off 8/6. On 9/15
off 3/17/14. On 4/10 off 4/ 5/1. off 8/15. off 8/21

6X Triple Crown & 2000 World Champ Sunny Garcia Talks Story Wednesday nite at Surfer the Bar

Sunny Garcia, has always been a man of passion, intensely devoted to his professional surfing career, drawn to the adrenaline-rushing sport of motocross and now focusing on being a driver in off-road racing.

Born on the west side of Hawaii, Vincent Sennen Garcia, nicknamed “Sunny” by his mom for his sunny disposition, had his first debut in the surfing world at the 1986 Gotcha Pro competition. He wowed the crowd, beating out the 1984 champ, Tom Carroll. And the wins didn’t stop there. He was the ASP WCT World Champion in 2000, has the most WQS event wins and holds six Triple Crown of Surfing titles. In 2010, Garcia was inducted into the Surfer’s Walk of Fame in Huntington Beach, Calif....Now you can meet him face to face but we dont recommend trying what Reid Inouye's doing in the photo.

After winning numerous titles and earning the highest accolades in surfing, Garcia refused to slow down. A longtime motocross racer, he announced his entry into off-road racing as a member of General Tire’s off- road powerhouse, Team GT. He’ll be racing in the SuperLite class during the Lucas Oil Off-Road Racing Series August 6th and 7th at Glen Helen Raceway in San Bernardino, CA.

Aside from surfing and racing, Garcia is also known throughout his community for his humanitarianism. In 2011, Garcia will host “Surfers for Cystic Fibrosis,” a fundraiser golf tournament organized by the Mauli Ola Foundation. His other business ventures include a clothing deal with Affliction Clothing and a computer game in which he is featured, the “Sunny Garcia Surfing” game.

SURFING CAREER HIGHLIGHTS: Triple Crown of Surfing: 2004, 2000, 1999, 1994, 1993, 1992 – Most Triple Crown of Surfing titles (6) ASP’s Men’s Most Improved Award: 1990, 1987/1988 Most victories in WQS competition (22)



Add comment

Security code


Login Form