Friday, September 19, 2014 596-SURF , 596-WAVE , 922-BONG , 638-RUSH , 572-SURF(MAUI) , 241-SURF (KAUAI) , 324-RUSH (BIG ISLAND)
Text Size
off 2/20/14; off 3/27. on 4/4. on 7/20/14 off 8/6. On 9/15
off 3/17/14. On 4/10 off 4/ 5/1. off 8/15. off 8/21

2012 Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau closes

Opening Ceremony in December 2011 © Quiksilver / Bielman....

Surf News, 29 February. Winter closed its door on the three-month holding period of the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau big wave event today. An active season kept elite big wave riders entertained on Oahu’s North Shore but failed to produce the solid day of 20-foot-plus surf at Waimea Bay that ‘The Eddie’ mandates.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau was last held in December of 2009, won by California’s Greg Long. The world’s best big wave riders will have to wait another year. This was the 27th year of the event. “As much as we’d like to see this dedication run every year, the event is committed to meeting the criteria of 20 feet,” said contest director George Downing.


27th Annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau
Fueled by Monster

ASP Specialty Event
Waimea Bay Oahu, Hawaii
1 December 2011 - 28 February 2012


“Those special winters of Eddie-sized waves seem to only come around every three to five years, so a season like this is to be expected.

“On behalf of the Aikau family, we sincerely thank this year’s Invitees, Alternates, Quiksilver and the organizing team who remained dedicated and enthusiastic throughout the holding period. We would also like to thank the Hawaii Tourism Authority and the City & County of Honolulu for their special efforts to make this an enjoyable event for all.”

This event is a tribute to Eddie Aikau, who rode the mountainous waves of Waimea Bay in the late '60s and early '70s and saved lives as its first full-time lifeguard. He was lost at sea in 1978, west of the Hawaiian Islands during a voyage of the Polynesian sailing canoe, Hokule'a.

Past champions: Denton Miyamura (Hawaii), Keone Downing (Hawaii), Clyde Aikau (Hawaii), Noah Johnson (Hawaii), Ross Clarke-Jones (Australia), Kelly Slater (USA), Bruce Irons (Hawaii), Greg Long (California).

Brock Little - HAW
Bruce Irons - HAW
Clyde Aikau - HAW
Dave Wassel - HAW
Greg Long - USA
Jamie O'Brien – HAW
Jamie Sterling – HAW
Kala Alexander – HAW
Kelly Slater – USA
Keone Downing – HAW
Kohl Christensen – HAW
Makua Rothman – HAW
Mark Healey – HAW
Michael Ho – HAW
Nathan Fletcher – USA
Noah Johnson – HAW
Peter Mel – USA
Ramon Navarro – CHL
Reef McIntosh – HAW
Ross Clarke – Jones – AUS
Rusty Keaulana – HAW
Shane Dorian – HAW
Sunny Garcia – HAW
Tom Carroll – HAW

Carlos Burle - BRZ
Grant Baker - ZAF
Jeremy Flores - EUR
Takayuki Wakita - JPN

Kalani Chapman - HAW
Garrett McNamara - HAW
Ian Walsh - HAW
Kahea Hart - HAW
Alex Gray - USA
Chris Bertish - ZAF
Mark Mathews - AUS
Shawn Dollar - USA
John John Florence - HAW
Danilo Couto - BRZ
Jamie Mitchell - AUS
Evan Valiere - HAW
Gabriel Villaran - PER
Danny Fuller - HAW
Keoni Watson - HAW
Ben Wilkinson - AUS
Diego Medina - CHL
RUsty Long - USA
Derek Dunfee - USA
Anthony Tashnick - USA
Ken Collins - USA
Kealii Mamala - HAW
Ross Williams - HAW
TAv Hannemann - HAW

Add comment

Security code


Login Form